Approximately 8 percent of all licensed drivers involved in fatal crashes are between 15 and 18 years old, and motor vehicle crashes remain the leading cause of death for this age group. Texas law requires persons under 18 to successfully complete a state-approved course in driver education as part of Phase I of the Graduated Driver Licensing process.
Driver Education combined with parental involvement and supervision is the key to keeping new drivers safe on the road.
Note: These programs can be taken for educational purposes or may be ordered by a judge to meet the requirements of the judgment or probation.
Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL)
Driver Training Programs
|“Seat Belt” Education Schools||Six hours
||Includes two hours of driving safety and four hours on child passenger safety. It can be judge-ordered or taken for educational purposes.
|Drug and Alcohol Driving Awareness Program Schools||Six hours
||This drug and alcohol driving awareness program can be judge-ordered or taken for educational purposes.
|Driving Safety Course Schools (Defensive Driving)||Six hours
||Texas state law allows drivers to dismiss one traffic ticket every 12 months by taking this TEA-approved driving safety course. Some insurance companies provide a discount on liability insurance with proof of course completion.
Parents and guardians should encourage teens to take this course, for the educational benefits, after driver education but before their 18th birthday.
|Younger Driver Education Program – Alive at 25||Four hours
||The video-based class was developed by the National Safety Council, a non-profit multi-agency team of law enforcement and safety professionals. The program focuses on teaching young drivers good decision-making while a driver or passenger in a motor vehicle.
Classes are available (by ZIP code) for individuals, schools, churches or community groups. Teens can take this course after driver education but before their 25th birthday. Some judges allow this course for community service credit.