Page Options
Up Arrow

Click It or Ticket or worse.

Seat belts save lives. That's why Texas is drawing the line for drivers and passengers: Buckle up or face a fine! Not only is wearing a seat belt the single most important step you can take to protect yourself in a crash, drivers and adult passengers who aren’t wearing a seat belt can each receive a ticket and risk fines and court costs of up to $200.

Law enforcement officials statewide are participating in the "Click It or Ticket" campaign to increase seat belt use. From May 23 to June 5, Texas law enforcement officers will increase their efforts to ticket drivers and passengers not wearing their seat belt. Memorial Day falls in the middle of this time period and marks the traditional start of summer, when many people take to the road to enjoy the long weekend with friends and family. All drivers and all passengers in the vehicle must be properly restrained.

Last year, 2,369 motor vehicle traffic crashes occurred in Texas in which unrestrained occupants sustained fatal or serious injuries. Wearing a seat belt increases your chance of surviving a crash by 45 percent. In pickup trucks, that number jumps to 60 percent, because pickups are twice as likely as cars to roll over in a crash.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration estimates that since its inception, the “Click It or Ticket” campaign in Texas has resulted in 4,319 fewer traffic fatalities while preventing 72,926 serious injuries and saving more than $ 16.7 billion in related economic costs.

Video PSAs

Video PSAs (Español)


Press Materials