Page Options
Up Arrow
Amarillo District Engineer

Ron Johnston, P.E., is the district engineer for TxDOT's Amarillo District.

The district includes the following counties: Armstrong, Carson, Dallam, Deaf Smith, Gray, Hansford, Hartley, Hemphill, Hutchinson, Lipscomb, Moore, Ochiltree, Oldham, Potter, Randall, Roberts and Sherman.

In November 2012, Johnston was named the district engineer to oversee the planning, design, construction, operation and maintenance of the state transportation system in the 17-county district.

He began his TxDOT career in June 1990 in the Borger Area Engineer’s Office and in 1992 received the Associated General Contractors Construction Award for the development of FM 3214 in Hansford County. In 1994, he transferred to the Amarillo District Design Office, where he was named district pavement engineer in 1997 and district design engineer in 1998. From 2001 through December 2006, he served as the area engineer for the Canyon Area Office. In January 2007, he became the Collin County area engineer in the Dallas District, where he played a vital role in the construction of SH 121 and the design of projects resulting from the SH 121 Comprehensive Development Agreement.

In 2009, he became the Dallas District director of operations and served as the co-chair of the Snow and Ice Committee for Super Bowl XLV in February 2011.  As the point-man for all snow and ice-clearing activities during Super Bowl week, he directed hundreds of TxDOT personnel and vehicles in the successful effort to keep traffic moving during an historic winter storm. This proved a vital experience when the Amarillo District received 19-inches of snow within 24 hours in February 2013. Heavy snow and high winds created blizzard conditions and the second-worst winter storm in Panhandle history.

Johnston is a native of the South Plains area. He graduated from Texas Tech University in 1990 with a degree in civil engineering and became a licensed professional engineer in 1997.

Contact Johnston by phone at (806) 356-3200 or email.