Page Options
Up Arrow
Design Division Director

Mark A. Marek, P.E.Mark A. Marek, P.E., serves as director of Design.

He began his TxDOT career as an engineering assistant in the Highway Design Division in 1981. He worked for the Austin District in construction before returning to the Highway Design Division in 1985. In 1988, he was named engineer of geometric design and then served as director of roadway design from 1998 until his appointment as the Design Division's deputy director in September 2002.

Marek chairs the TxDOT Specification Committee and the Texas Council of Engineering Companies/TxDOT/Texas Society of Professional Engineers Liaison Committee. He is also a member of the AASHTO Subcommittee on Design, AASHTO Technical Committee on Geometric Design, Comprehensive Development Agreement Standing Committee for the Trans-Texas Corridor, Financial Planning Committee, Research Oversight Committee, and Standing Committee on Training.

Among his achievements, Marek co-authored the 1990, 1994 and 2001 editions of the AASHTO Green Book. He recently oversaw development of the TxDOT Access Management Manual. He received the 1994 AASHTO Region IV Subcommittee on Design Award and the 2002 AASHTO National Subcommittee on Design Award. In 1992, he received the Gibb Gilchrist Award from the Texas Transportation Institute in recognition of outstanding service in highway engineering.

He received his B.S. degree in civil engineering from the University of Texas in 1981 and his master's degree in business administration from Southwest Texas State University in 1986.

Contact Marek by phone at (512) 416-2653 or by email.